Australian Curriculum

The Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA) is responsible for the development of an Australian curriculum for all schools (Foundation to Year 12). ACARA is directed by the Education Council and reports to all Australian Education Ministers through this Council.

The Australian Curriculum sets the expectations for what all Australian students should be taught, regardless of where they live or their background.

Schools and teachers are responsible for the organisation of learning and they will choose contexts for learning and plan learning in ways that best meet their student’s needs and interests.

Catholic schooling authorities in Queensland take responsibility for supporting school leaders and staff to meet the learning needs of every student by using effective planning, teaching, assessing and reporting practices.

P-10 Curriculum implementation

The implementation of the Australian Curriculum commenced in Queensland Catholic schools in 2012 in accordance with an agreed Phase 1 (English, Mathematics, Science and History)  implementation plan across Queensland schooling sectors. “Implementation” is defined as meaning teachers will “teach, assess and report against the content descriptions and achievement standards”. Phase 1 learning areas have been implemented in Queensland Catholic schools.

Australian education ministers have endorsed the full Foundation – Year 10 Australian Curriculum. For a period of time, there will be two versions of the Australian Curriculum. This will allow teachers and schools to transition to the improved curriculum.

Version 8.1 includes the improvements ACARA has made to the curriculum during 2015.
Version 7.5 is still available to allow teachers and schools time to make the transition to the improved curriculum.

During the transition period, Catholic schooling authorities will provide advice to their schools and communities about implementation of the full Australian Curriculum.

Senior Secondary Australian Curriculum

Draft Senior Secondary curriculum is undergoing consultation.

For more information: QCEC Factsheet – Australian Curriculum

Queensland Curriculum and Assessment Authority

The Queensland Curriculum and Assessment Authority (QCAA) is supporting the three education sectors (State, Independent and Catholic) in implementing the Australian curriculum by providing access to resources.