New QCEC Chair Announced


On behalf of the Queensland Bishops, the Most Rev Mark Coleridge, Archbishop of Brisbane, has announced the appointment of The Honourable Ms Leneen Forde AC as the new Chair of the Queensland Catholic Education Commission, commencing 01 March 2016.

Ms Forde is well known to many, having previously served as Governor of Queensland (1992-1997) and, more recently, Chancellor of Griffith University (2000-2015). She also chaired the Commission of Inquiry into Abuse of Children in Queensland Institutions (1998/99).

In 1992, Ms Forde was appointed a Companion of the Order of Australia in recognition of her service to the law, to improving the status of women, and to economic and business development. She is a Dame of Grace in the Order of St. John of Jerusalem, Queenslander of the Year (1991), recipient of the Centenary Medal (2003), a Queensland Greats Award winner (2007) and a Paul Harris Fellow awarded by Rotary International.

Over many years, Ms Forde has held a range of leadership and governance roles including International President of Zonta (1990 – 1992) and Founding President of Queensland Women Lawyers’ Association and is a past member of many boards including All Hallows’ School and St Leo’s College. She is also patron of a number of community and education organisations.

“Ms Forde’s appointment will ensure the Commission is well placed to continue its role of supporting and advancing Catholic education in Queensland. I am confident that she will bring exceptional leadership and wisdom to the Commission to help guide it through the opportunities and challenges that the future will bring,” said Dr Lee-Anne Perry AM, QCEC Executive Director.

“The Commission looks forward to welcoming Ms Forde to her first meeting on 15 March 2016,” Dr Perry said.

After eight years of outstanding leadership Emeritus Professor Peter Sheehan AO, concludes his term as Chair of the Commission. During this time, the Commission has addressed significant issues including the Gonski Review of School Funding, the introduction of the Australian Curriculum, the Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse, the introduction of the Prep year, and the move of Year 7 to Secondary schools in Queensland in 2015.

“We thank Professor Sheehan for his loyalty, wisdom and generous commitment to Catholic education in Queensland and wish him every blessing for the future,” Dr Perry said.

Ends …..

For further information please contact 07 3316 5800.